@Revolution:Global Business News

New Economy, Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Management, Global Business

Online Social Networking In a Digital Age

Posted by iBlog on May 20, 2007

Social networking and online community sites are HOT! HOT! HOT!

Meet me online, skype me or let’s webex a conference together with your management team around lunchtime! Hot sites for online social networking guru’s have finally come alive. What’s even hotter is that sites like LinkedIn, Xing and Ryze feature smart, sharp, intelligent talent, high powered ceo’s, unique people, entrepreneurs, corporate title holders and others who have joined the club. Taking a closer look at the online social community trend, these are some of the best sites out there for corporate America and beyond. Yes it is definitely an intellectual step up from the Myspace and Friendster class but without a comparison, we aren’t just talking about schmoozing and finding play pals off the internet for entertainment purposes. These serious business networking sites are hardcore for money makers, movers and shakers, decision makers and competitive corporate America who have decided to open there eyes to a whole new way of expanding personal business contacts and resources. You will find PWC executives, up and coming start up firms and any titled position holder you can think of by utilizing these online networking sites. Save time, be effective and gain valuable resources without leaving the comfort of your own office or home.

rtemagicc_company_ueber_uns_fadenspiel_small_02_jpg.jpg

Photo Credit: Online Social Network Xing.com

These days, online social networking is a definite trend to follow. Finding, networking, retaining and doing business with great talent is hard to find. Explore the online social community world, see what you have been missing. It’s wealth of connections could change your life!

How Xing’s online community culture connects top talent.

My favorite website is Xing. Because of the effect of this website and the contacts I have made, I have managed to eliminate the time consuming face to face networking events and business related clubs. I am of a 2.0 generation and online social networking is a growing trend. As a change agent, supporting the adaptation to migrate my social skills to cyberspace brought a questionable challenge. My fears overcame the best of me and I decided to take the plunge. It’s not so much of a difference then what you do at networking events in person. That’s all passe. Join the club and place your profile on one of these online sites. It will save you an incredible amount of time if you use it wisely and effectively. I recommend Xing. The quality of existing members and it’s global attraction connects some of the brightest talent.

xing.jpg

Featured online social networking site: www.xing.com

Last month I sat down with a client and he said Jen, guess how many people I met in the past month. I asked how many? And he told me over 100. Doing the math, that must have averaged him over 40 or so networking events. I silently laughed. Why? It’s logical. What a waste of time. I joined a quality online networking site and surpassed my client with adding 500 contacts within one months time. It didn’t hurt that I had a sales background and recruitment to help with my people picking skills but even a newbie can do this. In that short amount of time, I was able to expand my resources, open up my eyes to contacts outside of my local area, conference call and make instant contact on skype and didn’t have to wait in line through all the noise in the interim. By the end of the month I felt I recieved my $29.00 worth and saved on costs from attending online events then spending $12 here and there per event that would be held in person.Just hop on the bandwagon and learn to adapt your online social networking skills. You would be glad that you did, guaranteed. My only advice is that you have to use it wisely otherwise your profile will just be idle and go to waste. Remember, that the tool will not work and people will not interact unless you stay proactive. That means keeping up with correspondences, remembering important contacts and updating your profile.  The results are fantastic. It is an ideal tool for busy corporate executives. They are all fun interactive and intelligent driven sites. Community driven to a tee with intellectual forums, networking posts, skype access communication and other great online social networking features. Saving you time, money, energy and brain power by effectively utilizing the power of the internet to connect with valuable contacts across the globe. Online social networking can be a proven business tool to gather, improve, grow and provide ongoing personal connections.

Jen Lyn 

Leave a Reply

 
